Skip to main content

AAT AQ2016 syllabus

AAT logo

On 4th January 2016, AAT announced a new syllabus (AQ2016) that will be made available to students from 1st September 2016.

We’ve picked out some of the main changes and are here to offer you some advice to help you through the transition.

A grading will be given for each level
A grading system will now be applied across the full level, which allows you to understand how well you have performed overall:

  • Distinction (90%-100%)
  • Merit (80%-89%)
  • Pass (70%-79%)

New synoptic assessment
For AQ2016 you will need to complete a new synoptic assessment before moving on. A synoptic assessment tests the knowledge you have gained throughout the level, covering multiple topics.

It has been introduced to demonstrate your knowledge of core accountancy skills, your ability to apply them in the workplace and further show employers your status as a Qualified Accounting Technician, beyond passing exams.

Re-sit restrictions for Foundation and Advanced Qualifications
On AQ2016, you will only have two attempts to take each assessment in a 12 month window from when you first register on the qualification. For example, if you register on 1 February, then fail the initial attempt and resit, you will have to wait until 1 February the following year to attempt again.

So how do these changes affect you?
To find out what your options are, and for some help and advice, visit our dedicated AQ2016 webpage for more information. You can also register for one of our free AQ2016 advice webinars taking place in January and February 2016.